Active Archive

This new multimedia work by RCS composers Alex Mackay and Matt Zurowski, in collaboration with video artist Alexander Horowitz, explores the relevance of archive materials to 21st Century culture. Combining recordings of Mahler’s 4th Symphony, found videotapes, and newly-made audiovisual material, Active Archive aims to present these artefacts in a new light.

‘Active Archive’ is a multi-disciplinary piece involving sound, image and dance, created for ‘The Heavenly View‘ at the 2014 Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

The performance (in which three other performances featured alongside ‘Active Archive’) was the culmination of a  collaborative process between artists from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, University of Edinburgh and children from primary schools in Edinburgh. Choreographers worked with the children exploring the themes of heaven and hell as found in Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 4, and used the material generated during these sessions to create new dance pieces with dancers from Moray House, Edinburgh. Composers and visual artists created new works responding to these same themes, which were then brought together with choreography to produce the final performances.

The pieces were performed at the 2014 Edinburgh Festival Fringe, and then again in November 2014 for the children involved in the initial process.

Alex Mackay & Matt Zurowski: Music

Alexander Horowitz: Video

Chris Kidd: Choreography

Performed at The Underbelly, Bristo Square, Edinburgh as part of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2014, 11th-15th August 2014; and at the University of Edinburgh, 27th November 2014.

Active Archive from Alex Mackay on Vimeo.

Additional footage and information can be found here.